Freedom Awards

  • Sen. John McCain: Saluting a Champion of Freedom

    The Atlantic Council remembers US Sen. John McCain who received the Council’s Freedom Award in 2011. Here is a transcript of his remarks at the award ceremony.

    Read More
  • A Warning From Madeleine Albright: Beware of "Peddlers of Hate"

    Former US Secretary of State Among Four Recipients of Atlantic Council’s Freedom Award

    Former US Secretary of State Madeleine Albright, in accepting the Atlantic Council’s 2018 Freedom Award, urged Americans and Europeans alike not to allow “peddlers of hate,” on both sides of the Atlantic, “to hijack the institutions that ensure our freedom and define our democracies.”

    Read More
  • Atlantic Council Announces Honorees for 2018 Freedom Awards

    WASHINGTON, DC – The Atlantic Council will honor Dr. Madeleine Albright, 64th US Secretary of State; Aryana Sayeed, Afghan singer, songwriter, woman/human rights activist, and TV personality; Bana Alabed,Syrian activist and author of Dear World; and the International Women’s Media Foundation with its annual Freedom Awards on June 23 in Berlin, Germany.

    All four distinguished honorees will attend and speak at the Awards.

    “As we prepare to celebrate the 10th anniversary of the Freedom Awards in Berlin this year, it is an important time to reflect on the past and to ask ourselves what exactly “freedom” means in this era of unprecedented global change,” said Frederick Kempe, Atlantic Council President and CEO. “Our 2018 class of honorees span different regions, industries, and generations, but together they exemplify the courage, passion, and dedication that we believe is sorely...

    Read More
  • Past Freedom Awards Honorees

    Past Freedom Award Honorees

    2017 Honorees

    Migrant Offshore Aid Station
    Ani Choying Drolma
    NATO forces in Central and Eastern Europe
    Ambassador Daniel Fried
    The Hon. Zbigniew Brzezinski (posthumous)

    2016 Honorees

    Dr. Horst Teltschik
    Maciej Zieba
    Nighat Dad
    Syria Civil Defence (“The White Helmets”)

    2015 Honorees

    H.E. Carl Bildt
    Donetsk National University
    Agnieszka Holland
    Nadia Savchenko
    Boris Nemtsov (posthumous)

    2014 Honorees

    H.E. Toomas Hendrik Ilves
    H.E. Miklós Németh
    Polish-American Freedom Foundation
    The People of the Maidan

    2013 Honorees

    Malala Yousafzai
    H.E. Tadeusz...

    Read More
  • Atlantic Council Honors Champions of Freedom

    The political, security, and humanitarian challenges facing the world today cannot be overcome without international cooperation and a concerted effort to strengthen the “solidarity of values” of the transatlantic community, Daniel Fried, a recipient of the Atlantic Council’s 2017 Freedom Award, said at the awards ceremony in Warsaw, Poland, on July 7.

    The post-World War II international order created by the collaborative efforts of the United States and Europe “is at risk and under assault from without—from Russia—and from within—from those who doubt the value of what the free world achieved and what the free world stands for,” said Fried, a former assistant secretary of state for Europe who is currently a distinguished fellow at the Atlantic Council’s Dinu Patriciu Eurasia Center and Future Europe Initiative.  

    In an ardent call for transatlantic cooperation, Fried said: “We must equally recommit to the free world and the common values which have...

    Read More
  • 2014 Freedom Awards - Gallery

    Read More
  • Transcript: 2014 Freedom Awards

    The annual Atlantic Council Freedom Awards recognize extraordinary individuals and organizations that defend and advance the cause of freedom around the world. These awards embody the Council's mission to strengthen transatlantic leadership on global values. The recipients of the 2014 Freedom Awards were: Baroness Catherine Ashton, European Union Vice President and High Representative for Foreign and Security Policy; Toomas Hendrik Ilves, President of the Republic of Estonia; Miklós Németh, former Prime Minister of Hungary; the People of the Maidan in Ukraine, accepted on the Maidan movement's behalf by Ruslana Lyzhychko and Kateryna Kruk; and The Polish American Freedom Foundation and Jerzy Kozminski.

    Read More
  • Transcript: 2013 Freedom Awards

    The 2013 Atlantic Council Freedom Awards honored former Polish Prime Minister Tadeusz Mazowiecki, the European Humanities University of Belarus, Malala Yousafzai of Pakistan, and former US Ambassador to Hungary Mark Palmer.
    Read More
  • 2013 Freedom Awards

    In 2013, the Atlantic Council recognized four exceptional individuals and organizations for their remarkable contributions to the fight for freedom and democracy around the world.
    Read More
  • International Leaders to Converge on Poland for Wroclaw Global Forum and Freedom Awards

     WROCLAW, POLAND – Wrocław, Poland will host 350 political, business, and civil society leaders from around the world June 13-14 for the Fourth Annual Wroclaw Global Forum, including Polish Foreign Minister Radosław Sikorski; French Foreign Minister Laurent Fabius; US Deputy Secretary of Energy Daniel Poneman; former US National Security Advisor Stephen J. Hadley; Polish Treasury Minister Wlodzimierz Karpinski; Georgian Defense Minister Irakli Alasania; and Macedonian Foreign Minister Nikola Poposki
    Read More