Since 2010, the Atlantic Council’s Global Citizen Awards have honored individuals who make unique contributions towards improving the world.

2019 Honorees

His Excellency President Sebastian Piñera EcheniquePresident of the Republic of Chile
Brian GrazerStoryteller, Movie and Television Producer, Founder, and Philanthropist
His Excellency Mark RuttePrime Minister of the Netherlands
will.i.amFounder, Black Eyed Peas, Founder & CEO, I.AM+, and Founder and President, Foundation
Anna Deavere SmithActress, Playwright, Teacher, and Author, Atlantic Council’s first Artist in Residence

2018 Honorees

H.E. Mauricio Macri – President of the Argentine Republic
The Hon. John S. McCain (1936-2018) – United States Senator from Arizona
H.E. Erna Solberg – Prime Minister of the Kingdom of Norway 
Hamdi Ulukaya – Founder, Chairman and Chief Executive Officer, Chobani and Founder, The Tent Partnership for Refugees

2017 Honorees

The Rt. Hon. Justin Trudeau – Prime Minister of Canada
H.E. Moon Jae-in – President of the Republic of Korea
Lang Lang – World-renowned Pianist, Educator and Philanthropist

2016 Honorees

H.E. Shinzō Abe – Prime Minister of Japan
H.E. Matteo Renzi – Prime Minister of Italy
Mr. Wynton Marsalis – Managing and Artistic Director, Jazz at Lincoln Center

2015 Honorees

H.E. Juan Manuel Santos –  President of Colombia
Dr. Mario Draghi –
 European Central Bank President
Maestro Yu Long – 
Artistic Director, China Philharmonic

2014 Honorees

H.E. Shimon Peres – Former President of Israel
H.E. Enrique Peña Nieto – President of Mexico
H.E. Petro Poroshenko – President of Ukraine
H.E. Lee Kuan Yew – Former Prime Minister of Singapore
Mr. Robert De Niro – Actor, Director, Producer 
Llewellyn Sanchez-Werner – Piano Virtuoso

2013 Honorees

H.E. Bronisław Komorowski – President of the Republic of Poland
Her Majesty Queen Rania Al Abdullah – of the Hashemite Kingdom of Jordan
Maestro Seiji Ozawa – Conductor

2012 Honorees

Daw Aung San Suu Kyi – Chair, Burmese National League for Democracy
Dr. Henry Kissinger – Former US Secretary of State
Dr. Sadako Ogata – Former United Nations High Commissioner for Refugees
Mr. Quincy Jones – Producer, Composer, Arranger, and Humanitarian

2011 Honorees

Madame Christine Lagarde –  Managing Director, International Monetary Fund
The Hon. Secretary John Kerry – 
US Secretary of State, US Department of State
Mr. Rafik Hariri – 
Prime Minister of Lebanon (posthumous award)

2010 Honorees

Professor Klaus Schwab –  Founder and Executive Chairman, World Economic Forum

(function() { function async_load(){ var s = document.createElement('script'); s.type = 'text/javascript'; s.src = ('https:' == document.location.protocol ? 'https://pi' : 'http://cdn') + ''; var c = document.getElementsByTagName('script')[0]; c.parentNode.insertBefore(s, c); } if(window.attachEvent) { window.attachEvent('onload', async_load); } else { window.addEventListener('load', async_load, false); } })();