The Atlantic Council will present its annual Global Citizen Awards on October 1 to Colombian President Juan Manuel Santos, European Central Bank President Mario Draghi, and Music Director of the China Philharmonic Maestro Yu Long.

Henry Kissinger will accept the Atlantic Council’s Distinguished Service Award for his extraordinary lifetime of accomplishment as strategist, diplomat, author, and the Council’s longest serving board member.

International Monetary Fund Director Christine Lagarde will present the award to Mr. Draghi at the event, which has become one of the highlights of the United Nations General Assembly week.

“By honoring these four extraordinary individuals from four continents – a Latin American political leader struggling for  peace and prosperity, a European central banker confronting historic challenges, a ground-breaking Chinese musician, and the finest global strategist of our lifetimes — we hope to both shine a spotlight on their accomplishments and inspire others,” said Atlantic Council President and CEO Frederick Kempe.

Said Victor Chu, Atlantic Council International Advisory Board member and Chairman of the selection committee, “We are delighted that Madame Lagarde – whom we have honored in the past – will salute this year’s awardees, underscoring the importance of their contributions and the concept of global citizenship.”

Each year in New York City, the Atlantic Council’s Global Citizen Awards dinner convenes an influential gathering of some 350 top global government, business, military, media, and civil society leaders. Previous awardees have included heads of state and government, human rights defenders and great artists.

DATE: Thursday, October 1

TIME: 6:30 p.m.

LOCATION: New York, New York

This event is on the record and open to press. To request accreditation or for additional information, please email by September 29. Further details will be provided upon confirmation of accreditation.

Follow @AtlanticCouncil and use #ACAwards for live updates from the 2015 Global Citizen Awards.