2006 Leadership Award: Warner

On April 26, 2006, the Atlantic Council of the United States presented its tenth annual Award for Distinguished International Leadership to Senator John W. Warner at a black tie dinner at the Fairmont Hotel, Washington, DC.
Senator Warner was introduced to the distinguished audience by his long-time friend and colleague, Senator Ted Stevens, the senior Senator from Alaska.  Senator Warner is chairman of the Senate Armed Service Committee and has represented Virginia in the Senate since 1978.

Upon acceptance of the Award from the Chairman and President of the Atlantic Council, Ambassador Henry Catto and the Hon. Jan Lodal, Senator Warner gave the keynote address in which he called for the Atlantic Council to examine the feasibility of NATO establishing a “ring of deterrence” around Iran, as an alternative to the current search for a diplomatic solution to the Iranian situation.

About the Atlantic Council Leadership Awards:

Since 1996, the Atlantic Council has selected an outstanding individual to receive its annual Award for Distinguished International Leadership. These awards reflect the Council’s mission of promoting constructive U.S. international engagement by honoring individuals who have made major contributions to U.S. foreign policy and transatlantic relations.


The Council is grateful to the following organizations for their generous support of this event:

Principal Sponsor: 
Northrop Grumman Corporation

Platinum Sponsor: 
The Boeing Company

Gold Sponsors:     
Lockheed Martin Corporation

Silver Sponsors:     
BAE Systems North America, Inc.
The CNA Corporation
EADS North America, Inc.
General Dynamics Corporation
The Hon. Jan M. Lodal
The Hon. John D. Macomber
Mr. Kirk A. Radke
Raytheon Company
The Scowcroft Group

Bronze Sponsors:   
APCO Worldwide
The Carlyle Group
The Hon. and Mrs. Henry E. Catto
Chevy Chase Bank
Covington & Burling
EDS Corporation
Eli Lilly and Company
Hunton & Williams, LLP
Kissinger McLarty & Associates
General Richard L. Lawson, USAF (Ret.)
New York Daily News
The Hon. Stanley R. Resor
Veritas Capital

The Atlantic Council would also like to thank the following for their support:

ASSETT, Inc., Areva T&D, The Hon. Carol and the Hon. Kenneth Adelman, Mr. Daniel J. Callahan, III, The Hon. Julia Chang Bloch, Ambassador Jaime Daremblum, Mr. and Mrs. Marten H.A. van Heuven, Mr. and Mrs. Benjamin Huberman, The Hon. Robert E. Hunter, Mr. Franklin D. Kramer, Mrs. Geraldine S. Kunstadter, Dr. and Mrs. C. Richard Nelson, The Hon. and Mrs. William Nitze, Mr. Charles R. Perry, Mr. Joseph E. Robert, Jr., The Hon. Jill A. Schuker, The Hon. Walter E. Stadtler, The Hon. and Mrs. William H. Taft, IV, Mr. Peter Tanous, Mr. J. Robinson West, Wilson Global Communications USA, and the Hon. Dov S. Zakheim.

Image: 2006-0426-senator_warner_council_gala.jpg