2009 Leadership Awards: Bush, Kohl, Petraeus, Palmisano and Hampson

On April 29, the Atlantic Council hosted its Annual Awards Dinner, celebrating two historic dates in transatlantic relations: the 60th anniversary of the North Atlantic Treaty Organization and the 20th anniversary of the fall of the Berlin Wall.
President George H.W. Bush, the 41st President of the United States (1989-1993), and Helmut Kohl, the 6th Chancellor of Germany, received the Council’s Distinguished International Leadership Award for their historic roles in helping to end the Cold War and reunify Germany.

General David Petraeus, the commander of CENTCOM, received the Council’s Distinguished Military Leadership Award for his strength and courage in Iraq, Afghanistan, and throughout his military career.  Samuel Palmisano accepted the Distinguished Business Leadership Award for his role in building the largest and most diversified IT services organization in the industry, connecting investment, technology, and innovation.  The evening  also featured a special performance by world-renowned baritone Thomas Hampson, who received the Distinguished Artistic Leadership Award.

New Atlanticist Commentary:

Media Coverage:

Blogger Reactions:

Thomas Hampson Performances (Classical TV):

Bush-Kohl Telephone Conversations:

Press Releases:

About the Atlantic Council Leadership Awards:

Since 1996, the Atlantic Council has selected an outstanding individual to receive its annual Award for Distinguished International Leadership.  Over the years, Distinguished Military, Business, and Artistic Leadership Awards have been added.  These awards reflect the Council’s mission of promoting constructive U.S. international engagement by honoring individuals who have made major contributions to U.S. foreign policy and transatlantic relations.

Previous recipients of the award have included current National Security Advisor General James L. Jones; former UK Prime Minister Tony Blair; former Secretaries of State Henry Kissinger, Colin Powell, and Robert Rubin; business leaders Rupert Murdoch and Stephen Schwarzman; Senators John Warner, Chuck Hagel, and Sam Nunn; former National Security Adviser Brent Scowcroft; former Supreme Allied Commander Joseph Ralston; and former NATO Secretary-General Lord Robertson.