2010 Awards Dinner: Clinton, Bono, Ackermann, Abrial, Mattis

On April 28, 2010, the Atlantic Council held its annual Awards Dinner to honor Bill Clinton, Bono, Josef Ackermann, General Stéphane Abrial, and General James Mattis.

The Atlantic Council’s annual Awards Dinner honored Bill Clinton, 42nd President of the United States, for his distinguished international leadership that led to the Dayton Accords, peace negotiations in Northern Ireland, NATO enlargement and NAFTA, among other accomplishments during his presidency.

The Council presented its very first Humanitarian Leadership Award to Bono, the lead singer of U2 and Co-Founder of ONE and (RED), for his efforts in mobilizing resources and awareness in fighting disease and extreme poverty in Africa, as well as for his work to address other pressing humanitarian challenges.

Dr. Josef Ackermann, Chairman of the Management Board and the Group Executive Committee of Deutsche Bank AG, was presented the Distinguished Business Leadership Award for the remarkably powerful role that Deutsche Bank, under his stewardship, has assumed in international banking and finance, as well as for the leading role he is taking in the recovery and stabilization of financial markets.

The Distinguished Military Leadership Awards were presented jointly to General Stéphane Abrial, Supreme Allied Commander Transformation, and to General James Mattis, USMC, Commander of U.S. Joint Forces Command, for their leadership at a critical time as the Alliance took on its biggest and most important mission to secure and reconstruct Afghanistan, as well as for playing key roles in paving the way for France’s full re-entry into NATO.

For nearly half a century, the Atlantic Council has promoted constructive U.S. leadership and engagement in international affairs based on the central role of the Atlantic community in meeting the most pressing global challenges.  Each year, our Awards Dinner, one of the most visible and exciting Washington black tie events, brings together more than 800 leaders from the United States, Europe and beyond to honor the individuals who have made exceptional and distinctive contributions to the strengthening of the transatlantic relationship.  Our distinguished guests of the evening include senior members of the administration, members of Congress, former heads of state, ambassadors and global business leaders.

New Atlanticist Commentary:

Media Coverage: