Her Excellency Erna Solberg

Prime Minister of Norway

Erna Solberg was born and educated in Bergen: Norway’s ancient maritime capital and gateway to the Atlantic Ocean and America.

Always the global citizen, she has combined numerous national positions as minister, parlamentarian and regional politician with a strong commitment to global solutions for development, growth, and conflict resolution. 

As prime minister, and former chair of the Norwegian delegation to the NATO Parliamentary Assembly, she has championed transatlantic values and security.

From 2016, the prime minister has co-chaired the UN Secretary General’s advocacy group for the sustainable development goals (SDGs). Among the goals, she takes a particular interest in access to quality education for all, and specially girls and children in conflict areas. Her firm belief is that investment in education will accelerate progress on all other SDGs.

Solberg has secured significant financial support for the Global Partnership for Education and will host the Global Finance Facility Pledging Conference in Oslo in November this year.

Recently she has assembled a global high level panel on sustainable use and management of the oceans and introduced the topic at the Group of Seven (G-7) Summit. Her Government supports the World Bank’s PROblue initiative to prevent marine damage. 

Solberg has been leader of the Conservative Party of Norway (EPP, IDU) since 2004 and has held the position as prime minister since the general election in 2013. She was re-elected in September 2017.

An engineer by training, Mauricio Macri has been president of the Republic of Argentina since December 2015, following a career in business, sports administration, and as mayor of the city of Buenos Aires.
During his presidential campaign, Macri earned the support of citizens and political parties across the ideological spectrum based on his ‘Let’s Change’ coalition that looked for alternatives to the isolationist and populist policies of the past and sought to strengthen democratic institutions.