Please join us on July 7, 2014 from 5:00 p.m. to 6:00 p.m for a public address by Anders Fogh Rasmussen, Secretary General of NATO, who will outline his vision for the future of NATO and discuss the upcoming NATO Summit in Wales.

An address and discussion with
Anders Fogh Rasmussen
Secretary General

Moderated by
Frederick Kempe
President and CEO
Atlantic Council
On July 7, during his last major public visit to Washington, DC, outgoing NATO Secretary General Anders Fogh Rasmussen will give a public address at the Atlantic Council outlining the agenda for the upcoming NATO Summit in Wales and his vision of the future trajectory of NATO.

NATO has sustained a high operational tempo since the end of the Cold War, evolving from a static and traditional alliance into the world’s leading international organization for collective defense, cooperative security, and crisis management. This era of high-intensity operations will come to a close with the end of the ISAF mission in Afghanistan at the end of 2014, but that does not mean NATO can rest on its laurels. Proliferating conflicts in the Middle East, aggressive Russian activities in Europe’s East, an increasing need to address 21st century security challenges, and the global power shift to Asia threaten to weaken the elements that have sustained the transatlantic bond for nearly seven decades.

Anders Fogh Rasmussen took office as NATO’s twelfth secretary general in August 2009. During this time, he has played a critical leadership role in spearheading NATO’s modernization efforts, sustaining strong transatlantic support for the mission in Afghanistan, and, most recently, ably leading NATO’s response to the crisis in Ukraine. Prior to this, from 2001 to 2009, he served as the prime Minister of Denmark. During the Danish Presidency of the European Union from July to December 2002, Rasmussen played a key role in the process leading to accession negotiations with ten candidates for EU membership at the European Council meeting in Copenhagen in December 2002. Rasmussen was first elected to Denmark’s parliament in 1978 for the Liberal Party, and has held numerous top posts within the Liberal Party and Danish government during the course of his political career.

Related Experts: