As the global community continues to grapple with COVID-19 (coronavirus), the Atlantic Council is open for business. Our business, meetings, and events, however, are occurring virtually. For more information, please read a statement from our President and CEO.

Please join the Atlantic Council’s Asia Security Initiative, housed within the Scowcroft Center for Strategy and Security, and the Korea Foundation for the 2020 Atlantic Council-Korea Foundation Forum from 8:00 a.m. to 10:05 a.m. (EST) / 10:00 p.m. to 12:05 a.m. (KST) on Wednesday, December 2, 2020, and 8:00 a.m. to 10:15 a.m. (EST) / 10:00 p.m. to 12:15 a.m. (KST) on Thursday, December 3, 2020.

The Atlantic Council-Korea Foundation Forum brings together current and former US and ROK officials and senior experts to develop forward-looking recommendations for the most pressing issues facing the bilateral security alliance and economic partnership.

Wednesday, December 2

8:00 – 8:10 a.m. (EST) / 10:00 – 10:10 p.m. (KST)

Opening remarks

Mr. Frederick Kempe
President and CEO
​​​
Atlantic Council

Dr. Geun Lee
President
Korea Foundation

8:10 – 8:45 a.m. (EST) / 10:10 – 10:45 p.m. (KST)

Keynote session
“The US-ROK Alliance and the Future of the Rules-Based International System”

Dr. Kurt Campbell
Former Assistant Secretary of State for East Asian and Pacific Affairs
Chairman and CEO
The Asia Group

Moderated by

Mr. Frederick Kempe
President and CEO
​​​
Atlantic Council

9:00 – 10:00 a.m. (EST) / 11:00 p.m. – 12:00 a.m. (KST)

Panel session
“The US-ROK Alliance under the Biden Administration”

Dr. Young-kwan Yoon
Former Minister of Foreign Affairs, Republic of Korea
Professor Emeritus, Seoul National University

Dr. Jim Miller
Former US Under Secretary of Defense for Policy
President
Adaptive Strategies, LLC

Dr. Heung-kyu Kim
Director, US-China Policy Institute
Ajou University

Mr. Barry Pavel
Senior Vice President and Director, Scowcroft Center for Strategy and Security
Atlantic Council

Dr. Jaechun Kim
Professor of International Relations
Sogang University

Moderated by

Ms. Olivia Gazis
Intelligence and National Security Reporter
CBS News

10:00 – 10:05 a.m. (EST) / 12:00 – 12:05 a.m. (KST)

Closing remarks

Dr. Miyeon Oh
Director and Senior Fellow, Asia Security Initiative, Scowcroft Center for Strategy and Security
​​​​​​Atlantic Council

Thursday, December 3

8:00 – 8:05 a.m. (EST) / 10:00 – 10:05 p.m. (KST)

Welcoming remarks

Mr. Barry Pavel
Senior Vice President and Director, Scowcroft Center for Strategy and Security
Atlantic Council

8:05 – 9:00 a.m. (EST) / 10:05 – 11:00 p.m. (KST)

Panel session
“Principled Diplomacy for a Denuclearized North Korea”

Mr. Robert Einhorn
Senior Fellow, Arms Control and Non-Proliferation Initiative and the Center for Security, Strategy, and Technology
Brookings Institution

Dr. Byung-Yeon Kim
Professor, Department of Economics
​​​​​​Seoul National University

Mr. Markus V. Garlauskas
Former US National Intelligence Officer for North Korea
Nonresident Senior Fellow, Asia Security Initiative
, Scowcroft Center for Strategy and Security
Atlantic Council

Dr. Ki-Young Sung
Senior Research Fellow, Security Strategy Research Center
Institute for National Security Strategy

Moderated by

Dr. Sue Mi Terry
Senior Fellow, Korea Chair
Center for Strategic and International Studies

9:15 – 10:10 a.m. (EST) / 11:15 p.m. – 12:10 a.m. (KST)

Panel session
“The US-ROK Economic Partnership Beyond the Peninsula”

Dr. Dukgeun Ahn
Professor of International Trade Law and Policy
​​​​​​Seoul National University

The Hon. Marc Knapper
Deputy Assistant Secretary for Korea and Japan, Bureau of East Asian and Pacific Affairs
US Department of State

H.E. Seoung-hyun Moon
Deputy Chief of Mission
Embassy of the Republic of Korea

Dr. Miyeon Oh
Director and Senior Fellow, Asia Security Initiative, Scowcroft Center for Strategy and Security
​​​​​​Atlantic Council

Moderated by

Mr. Scott Snyder
Senior Fellow for Korea Studies and Director of the Program on US-Korea Policy
Council on Foreign Relations

10:10 – 10:15 a.m. (EST) / 12:10 – 12:15 a.m. (KST)

Closing remarks

Dr. Miyeon Oh
Director and Senior Fellow, Asia Security Initiative, Scowcroft Center for Strategy and Security
​​​​​​Atlantic Council

Barry Pavel

Senior Vice President and Director, Scowcroft Center for Strategy and Security

Scowcroft Center for Strategy and Security

Miyeon Oh

Director & Senior Fellow, Asia Security Initiative

Asia Security Initiative

Markus Garlauskas

Nonresident Senior Fellow, Asia Security Initiative

Asia Security Initiative

The Scowcroft Center for Strategy and Security works to develop sustainable, nonpartisan strategies to address the most important security challenges facing the United States and the world.

(function() { function async_load(){ var s = document.createElement('script'); s.type = 'text/javascript'; s.src = ('https:' == document.location.protocol ? 'https://pi' : 'http://cdn') + '.pardot.com/pd.js'; var c = document.getElementsByTagName('script')[0]; c.parentNode.insertBefore(s, c); } if(window.attachEvent) { window.attachEvent('onload', async_load); } else { window.addEventListener('load', async_load, false); } })();