As the global community continues to grapple with the coronavirus (COVID-19), the Atlantic Council is open for business. Our business, meetings, and events, however, are occurring virtually. For more information, please read an update from our President and CEO.

Please join the Atlantic Council’s Asia Security Initiative housed within the Scowcroft Center for Strategy and Security for the 2021 Atlantic Council-East Asia Foundation Strategic Dialogue on Tuesday, May 25, 6:45 p.m. to 9:30 p.m. (Eastern Daylight Time) / Wednesday, May 26, 7:45 a.m. to 10:30 a.m. (Korea Standard Time).

This Strategic Dialogue brings together US and ROK officials, lawmakers, and opinion leaders to develop forward-looking recommendations on the most pressing challenges facing the US-ROK alliance and economic partnership. The theme of this year’s Dialogue is “Adapting the US-ROK Alliance to a New Era,” and it will feature two panel sessions. The first panel session, “The Moon-Biden Summit: Key Takeaways and Next Steps,” will examine the outcomes of the first meeting between the two leaders since President Biden’s inauguration and identify concrete steps both countries can take to strengthen the US-ROK alliance in light of key outcomes from the summit. The second session, “The Future of US-ROK Economic Cooperation: Innovation, Technology, and Global Supply Chains,” will focus on assessing prospects for cooperative economic efforts to develop critical and emerging technologies and to secure global supply chains.

Agenda

6:45 – 7:00 p.m. (EDT) / 7:45 – 8:00 a.m. (KST)

Opening remarks

Minister Sung-hwan Kim
Chairman, East Asia Foundation
Former Minister of Foreign Affairs and Trade, Republic of Korea 

Mr. Damon Wilson
Executive Vice President
Atlantic Council

7:00 – 8:00 p.m. (EDT) / 8:00 – 09:00 a.m. (KST)

Session 1
The Moon-Biden Summit: Key Takeaways and Next Steps

The Hon. Ami Bera
Representative (D-CA 7th District)
US House of Representatives

H.E. Tae-yong Cho
Lawmaker (People Power Party)
National Assembly of the Republic of Korea 

The Hon. Young Kim
Representative (R-CA 39th District)
US House of Representatives

H.E. Kun-young Youn
Lawmaker (Democratic Party of Korea)
National Assembly of the Republic of Korea 

Moderated by

Amb. Mark Lippert
Head of Government Affairs and Public Policy, APAC, YouTube
Senior Advisor, Korea Chair, Center for Strategic and International Studies
Former US Ambassador to the Republic of Korea

8:20 – 9:20 p.m. (EDT) / 9:20 – 10:20 a.m. (KST)

Session 2
The Future of US-ROK Economic Cooperation: Innovation, Technology, and Global Supply Chains

H.E. Jae-il Byun
Lawmaker (Democratic Party of Korea)
National Assembly of the Republic of Korea

Minister Jong-hoon Kim
Chairman of the Board, SK Innovation
Special Advisor, Hyundai Motors
Former Minister for Trade, Republic of Korea
Former Chair of UN Economic and Social Commission for Asia and the Pacific  

Dr. Chang-han Lee
Vice Chairman
Korea Semiconductor Industry Association

Mr. John Neuffer
President and CEO
Semiconductor Industry Association

Amb. Susan Schwab
Professor Emerita, University of Maryland
Strategic Advisor, Mayer Brown LLP
Former United States Trade Representative

Moderated by

Dr. Miyeon Oh
Director and Senior Fellow, Asia Security Initiative,
Scowcroft Center for Strategy and Security
​​​
Atlantic Council

9:20- 9:30 p.m. (EDT) / 10:20 – 10:30 a.m. (KST)

Closing remarks

Dr. Miyeon Oh
Director and Senior Fellow, Asia Security Initiative,
Scowcroft Center for Strategy and Security
​​​
Atlantic Council

Asia Security Initiative

The Asia Security Initiative, housed within the Scowcroft Center for Strategy and Security, fosters a trans-Atlantic-Pacific Community with a dual analytical approach grounded in key traditional and non-traditional security issues in order to develop new strategies and policies for the United States, its allies, and its partners.