Last Updated: November 1, 2018
Ambassador Capricia Penavic Marshall
Chairwoman, Ambassador Leadership Council
Full Bio
The Ambassador Leadership Council (ALC) convenes ambassadors from the Washington diplomatic corps who represent nations that share the values and interests of the Atlantic Council. Chaired by former US Chief of Protocol Capricia Penavic Marshall, ALC members engage in the Atlantic Council’s work through private strategy sessions, public events, media outreach, and online and print publications. ALC members also collaborate with the Atlantic Council to host their visiting head of state, head of government, and cabinet ministers to discuss the challenges and opportunities facing the global community.

Ambassador Leadership Council Members 

(alphabetical by last name)

His Excellency Kåre Reidar Aas, Ambassador of Norway
His Excellency Salem Abdullah Al-Jaber Al-Sabah, Ambassador of Kuwait
His Excellency Pierre Clive Agius, Ambassador of Malta
His Excellency Shaikh Abdullah bin Rashed bin Abdullah Al Khalifa, Ambassador of Bahrain
His Excellency Meshal Al Thani, Ambassador of Qatar
Her Excellency Hassana Alidou, Ambassador of Niger
His Excellency Sergio Amaral, The Brazilian Ambassador
His Excellency Anatoly Antonov, Ambassador of Russia 
His Excellency Gérard Araud, Ambassador of France
His Excellency David Bakradze, Ambassador of Georgia 
His Excellency Ahmed Binmubarak, Ambassador of Yemen
His Excellency Madjid Bouguerra, Ambassador of Algeria
Ms. Wafa Bughaighis, Chargé d’Affaires a.i of Libya
His Excellency Valeriy Chaly, Ambassador of Ukraine
His Excellency Yoon-je Cho, Ambassador of the Republic of Korea
His Excellency Martin Dahinden, Ambassador of Switzerland
His Excellency Babacar Diagne, Ambassador of Senegal
Her Excellency Maguy Doyle, Ambassador of Monaco
Her Excellency Floreta Faber, Ambassador of Albania
His Excellency Robinson Githae, Ambassador of Kenya
His Excellency Fayçal Gouia, Ambassador of Tunisia
His Excellency Tim Groser, Ambassador of New Zealand
His Excellency Gerónimo Gutiérrez Fernández, Ambassador of Mexico
His Excellency Geir Haarde, Ambassador of Iceland
His Excellency Joe Hockey, Ambassador of Australia
His Excellency Grigor Hovhannissian, Ambassador of Armenia
His Excellency Haris Hrle, Ambassador of Bosnia & Herzegovina
His Excellency Kurt Jaeger, Ambassador of Liechtenstein
His Excellency Nebojša Kaludjerović, Ambassador of Montenegro
Her Excellency Kirsti Kauppi, Ambassador of Finland
Her Excellency Dina Kawar, Ambassador of Jordan
His Excellency Erzhan Kazykhanov, Ambassador of Kazakhstan
His Excellency Serdar Kilic, Ambassador of Turkey
His Excellency Peter Kmec, Ambassador of Slovakia
His Excellency Hynek Kmoníček, Ambassador of the Czech Republic
His Excellency Rolandas Kriščiūnas, Ambassador of Lithuania
His Excellency Haris Lalacos, Ambassador of Greece
His Excellency Lars Lose, Ambassador of Denmark
Her Excellency Sylvie Lucas, Ambassador of Luxembourg
His Excellency George Maior, Ambassador of Romania
His Excellency Djerdj Matkovic, Ambassador of Serbia
His Excellency Ashok Kumar Mirpuri, Ambassador of Singapore
His Excellency Hamdullah Mohib, Ambassador of Afghanistan
His Excellency Pedro Morenés, Ambassador of Spain
His Excellency Michael Moussa-Adamo, Ambassador of Gabon
His Excellency Daniel Mulhall, Ambassador of Ireland
Her Excellency Karin Olofsdotter, The Swedish Ambassador
His Excellency Fernando Oris de Roa, Ambassador of Argentina
His Excellency Carlos Pareja, Ambassador of Peru
His Excellency Vinh Pham Quang, Ambassador of Vietnam
His Excellency Yasser Reda, Ambassador of Egypt
His Excellency Camilo Reyes, Ambassador of Colombia
His Excellency Jose Manuel Romualdez, Ambassador of the Philippines
His Excellency Farhod Salim, Ambassador of Tajikistan
His Excellency Henne Schuwer, Ambassador of the Kingdom of the Netherlands
His Excellency Pjer Šimunović, Ambassador of Croatia
His Excellency Tihomir Stoytchev, Ambassador of Bulgaria
His Excellency Shinsuke Sugiyama, Ambassador of Japan
His Excellency Elin Suleymanov, Ambassador of Azerbaijan
His Excellency László Szabó, Ambassador of Hungary
His Excellency Andris Teikmanis, Ambassador of Latvia
His Excellency Juan Gabriel Valdes, Ambassador of Chile
His Excellency Armando Varricchio, Ambassador of Italy
His Excellency Stanislav Vidovič, Ambassador of Slovenia 
His Excellency Domingos Vital, Ambassador of Portugal
His Excellency Peter Wittig, Ambassador of Germany
His Excellency Dirk Wouters, Ambassador of Belgium
His Excellency Fareed Yasseen, Ambassador of Iraq
His Excellency Mohammad Ziauddin, Ambassador of Bangladesh

Honorary Members 

His Excellency Dr. Božo Cerar, Permanent Representative of the Republic of Slovenia to NATO
His Excellency Daouda Diabaté, Former Ambassador of Cote d'Ivoire
Ms. Carla Jazzar, Former Chargé d’Affaires a.i of Lebanon
His Excellency Björn Lyrvall, The Former Swedish Ambassador
His Excellency Pisan Manawapat, Ambassador of Thailand
His Excellency Josip Joško Paro, Former Ambassador of Croatia
His Excellency Kenichiro Sasae, Former Ambassador of Japan