From Britain will not take part in a NATO cyber security and warfare scheme due to the conflicting interests that participation would cause with other government departments and allies.

NATO members Estonia, Germany, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Slovakia and Spain are all sponsoring a cyber defence and warfare centre that is being setup in Estonia to conduct research on what is expected to be a major part of the future of warfare. The centre is also expected to monitor suspected cyber attacks, study how to firm up NATO cyber defences, and train military officials in offensive and defensive cyber activities.