All Content

Thu, Sep 12, 2019

A potential path forward for Hong Kong?

Beijing needs to give the Hong Kong government "some space" to effectively address the concerns of its citizens, former US general consul to Hong Kong Kurt Tong said.

New Atlanticist by David A. Wemer

China Rule of Law

Tue, Dec 12, 2017

Shaping the Asia-Pacific economic order

Twenty years after the Asian Financial Crisis, Asian economies are buoyant, working with a smartly reformed IMF to brace for future crises, and rhetoric aside, it will a while before China’s RMB challenges the US dollar as the world’s first reserve currency.

Issue Brief by Robert A. Manning and Olin Wethington

Australia China

Thu, Nov 17, 2016

A path to US leadership in the Asia-Pacific


Report by Olin Wethington and Robert A. Manning

Australia China

Olin Wethington is the founder and chairman of Wethington International LLC, an investment and business advisory firm focused on advising institutions on capital investment, financial structure, and business strategy in emerging markets. Mr. Wethington is also the executive director of the Project on Shaping the Asia-Pacific Future at the Atlantic Council’s Scowcroft Center for Strategy and Security, as well as a nonresident senior fellow of the Center and a Director on the Atlantic Council Board. He previously served as chairman, AIG Companies in China, and was a partner at Steptoe & Johnson (Washington, DC). Mr. Wethington has also held a number of positions in the US government, including: special envoy on China; counselor to the secretary of the US Treasury; assistant secretary for international affairs, US Treasury; special assistant to the president and executive secretary, Economic Policy Council, White House (under President George H.W. Bush). He is a graduate of Harvard Law School and the University of Pennsylvania. He is a member of the Council on Foreign Relations, the board of trustees of the George C. Marshall Foundation, and the board of directors of the International Republican Institute. He is a recipient of the Alexander Hamilton Award, the highest honor of the US Department of the Treasury.