Julie Chon has been a senior fellow with the Atlantic Council’s GeoEconomics Center since 2011. For the past five years, she was also managing director and global head of public investment strategy at Perry Capital where she worked on the firm’s most successful investments, navigating complex policy and political, regulatory, and legal dynamics in the United States, Europe, Latin America, and Asia.
From 2007-2011, Ms. Chon crafted landmark US policy responses to stabilize the financial crisis as senior adviser to Senate Banking Committee Chairman Christopher Dodd. She played a central role in the enactment of several laws that redefined the powers of the Treasury Department, Federal Reserve, housing agencies, and regulators to support the economy. These included the Housing and Economic Recovery Act, Emergency Economic Stabilization Act, American Recovery and Reinvestment Act, Helping Families Save Their Homes Act, Dodd-Frank Act, Foreign Investment and National Security Act, and International Monetary Fund authorization. She advised Committee members on presidential appointees and high-profile hearings related to these topics. As chief international adviser, Ms. Chon met regularly with central banks, finance ministries, and financial institutions globally. She was also appointed to the Treasury Department team for the Obama-Biden Presidential Transition Project and Senate Democratic Policy Committee staff. Ms. Chon’s impact on economic policymaking was chronicled by veteran Washington Post reporter, Robert Kaiser, in his book, “Act of Congress.”
Ms. Chon has worked with over thirty governments on financial stabilization and international debt capital markets access, beginning her career at JP Morgan Chase in New York and Salomon/Citigroup in London.
Ms. Chon is a trustee of the US-Asia Institute and was a member of the Council on Foreign Relations. She has provided economic commentary for the Financial Times, the Wall Street Journal, Bloomberg, and CNBC. She graduated from Cornell University, serving as a member of the Board of Trustees from 1996 to 1998.